MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF COBDEN, ILLINOIS HELD ON MONDAY, MAY 7, 2018 AT THE VILLAGE HALL

Call to Order

Village President Paul Tomazzoli called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M.

Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Trustees were present:

Jeanne Britt Patrick Brumleve Alma Gomez Elvis Pearson Austin Sellars David Stewart

<u>Also Present</u>: Jesse Adams, Chad Eads, B. J. Hale, Cherry Connolly, Terri Addison, Philip Royster, Jacob Sanders, Douglas Meadows

Minutes of the April 16, 2018 Regular Meeting

Motion was made by Stewart, seconded by Britt, to approve the Minutes of the April 16, 2018 regular meeting as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart Nays: 0 – None Absent: 0 – None Motion declared carried.

Appointment of Committees and Officials

Village President Tomazzoli's appointment of the following officials and committees was approved by consent vote as follows:

Ayes:4 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, SellarsNays:2 – Pearson, StewartAbsent:0 – None

Committee Assignments

<u>Finance</u>

Pat Brumleve, Chairman Elvis Pearson

Utilities

Austin Sellars, Chairman Alma Gomez

<u>Cemetery</u> Alma Gomez, Chairman David A. Stewart

Treasurer Lou Ann Hartline, 2020

Fire Department

Larry J. Quertermous, Chief Larry Hackethal, Assistant Chief Jesse Spencer, Secretary/Treasurer

Cemetery Board of Managers Homer Forby 2021 Ray Hogan 2021 Streets and Sidewalks Elvis Pearson, Chairman Jean A. Britt

Public Safety Jean A. Britt, Chairman Austin Sellars

Park and Beautification David A. Stewart, Chairman Patrick Brumleve

Police Chief B. J. Hale

Zoning Administrator Officer Ryan Stillman

Liquor Advisory Board Paul Z. Tomazzoli, Chairman B. J. Hale David Stewart Pat Brumleve

Zoning Board of Appeals Rose Hogan, Chairman 2023 Debbie Stroehlein 2023

Zoning Permits

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Gomez, to issue Zoning Permit No. 955 to Emilio Miranda and Adriana Maldonado for a storage building. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes:6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, StewartNays:0 – NoneAbsent:0 - NoneMotion declared carried.

Approval of Bills and Salaries

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, that presented bills in the amount of \$21,472.84 and regular salaries be approved for payment. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart Nays: 0 – None Absent: 0 - None Motion declared carried.

Budget Report

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Stewart, to approve the Budget Report for the period ending April 30, 2018, as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

 Ayes:
 6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

 Nays:
 0 – None

 Absent:
 0 – None

 Motion declared carried.

Line Item and Other Transfers

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, to authorize line item and other transfers for the as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

 Ayes:
 6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

 Nays:
 0 – None

 Absent:
 0 – None

 Motion declared carried.

Monthly Police Report

The Police Report for April 2018 was presented.

Life Saver Commendation – Douglas Meadows

Police Chief Hale honored Police Officer Douglas Meadows by presenting him with the Life Saver Commendation for his actions in saving the life of a Cobden resident.

Purchase of Squad Car

Proposals were presented for the purchase of a new squad car. Consideration of the purchase was tabled until all year-end financial reports are completed and reviewed.

Illinois Municipal League – Risk Management Association

The Village has received notice from the Illinois Municipal League Risk Management Association that insurance rates for the 2019 coverage year will not be increased.

Scholarship Award

The Scholarship Committee met prior to this meeting and presented two candidates for the scholarship awards. Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, that Gregoria Rafael will receive the R. G. Williams Award and Maria Victoria Vicente will receive the Village of Cobden – Dale Millis Auction Service Award. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes:6 – Britt, Brumleve, Gomez, Pearson, Sellars, StewartNays:0 – NoneAbsent:0 – NoneMotion declared carried.

Adjournment

Motion was made by Stewart, seconded by Brumleve, that the Regular Meeting of the Village Board of Trustees be adjourned. Motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

Karen M. Winzenburger, Village Clerk