# MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF COBDEN, ILLINOIS HELD ON MONDAY, MAY 1, 2017 AT THE VILLAGE HALL

#### Call to Order

Village President Paul Z. Tomazzoli called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.M.

#### Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Trustees were present:

Patrick Brumleve Alma Gomez Austin Sellars David Stewart

Elvis Pearson

Also present: Jerry Jimenez, Larry J. Quertermous, Larry Hackethal, B. J. Hale, Jesse Spencer, Chad Eads

# Official Canvass of April 4, 2017 Consolidated Election

The Official Canvass of the April 4, 2017 Consolidated Election was presented indicating the election of Village President Paul Z. Tomazzoli, Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger, Trustees Jean A. Britt, Austin Sellars and David Stewart.

# Oath of Office

The Oath of Office of Village President was administered to Paul Z. Tomazzoli by Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger.

The Oath of Office of Village Clerk was administered to Karen M. Winzenburger by Paul Z. Tomazzoli.

The Oath of Office of Village Trustee was administered to Austin Sellars and David Stewart by Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger.

# **Committee Assignments and Official Appointments**

Village President Tomazzoli's appointment of the following committees and officials was approved by consent vote as follows:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

## **Committee Assignments**

<u>Finance</u> <u>Streets and Sidewalks</u>

Pat Brumleve, Chairman Elvis Pearson, Chairman

Elvis Pearson Jean A. Britt

<u>Utilities</u> <u>Public Safety</u>

Austin Sellars, Chairman
Alma Gomez

Jean A. Britt, Chairman
Austin Sellars

<u>Cemetery</u> <u>Park and Beautification</u>

Alma Gomez, Chairman
David A. Stewart, Chairman
Patrick Brumleve

Police Chief

B. J. Hale

Fire Department

Larry J. Quertermous, Chief Larry Hackethal, Assistant Chief Jesse Spencer, Secretary/Treasurer

Zoning Administrative Officer

Ryan Stillman

Liquor Advisory Board

Paul Z. Tomazzoli, Chairman

B. J. Hale David Stewart Pat Brumleve

**ESDA Coordinator** 

William C. Eads

Zoning Board of Appeals

Rose Hogan, Chairman 2018
Kenneth Chilman 2021
Todd Dietterle 2021
Dustin Fisher 2022
Anna B. Forby 2019
Debbie Stroehlein 2018
Gary Wiggs 2020

#### Oath of Office

The Oath of Office of Fire Chief was administered to Larry J. Quertermous by Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger.

The Oath of Office of Assistant Fire Chief was administered to Larry Hackethal by Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger.

The Oath of Office of Secretary/Treasurer of the Fire Department was administered to Jesse Spencer by Village Clerk Karen M. Winzenburger.

# Minutes of the April 17, 2017 Regular Meeting

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Stewart, to approve the Minutes of the April 17, 2017 regular meeting as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

#### Visitor - Jerry Jimenez

Jerry Jimenez owner of Darn Hot Peppers is planning to hold the annual Pepper Festival in the downtown park Labor Day weekend. He gave the Board the history of his business, future plans, and current items he is offering in his location on South Front Street. After being given an application for use of the park, he left the meeting.

# **Building Permit**

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, to issue Building Permit No. 948 to Charles Jackson for a pool house. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

#### **Approval of Bills and Salaries**

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Stewart, that presented bills in the amount of \$18,040.15 and regular salaries be approved for payment. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# Budget Report

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Pearson, to approve the Budget Report for the period ending April 30, 2017, as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

#### **Line Item and Other Transfers**

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, to authorize line item and other transfers as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 – Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# Village Clerk's Report

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Brumleve, to approve the Village Clerk's Report for the period ending March 31, 2017, as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# Village Treasurer's Report

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Pearson, to approve the Village Treasurer's Report for the period ending March 31, 2017, as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 – Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# IMRF Contribution Rate for Calendar Year 2018

The IMRF Contribution Rate for Calendar Year 2018 is 14.06%. The current rate is 15.14%.

## **Appointment of Auxiliary Police Officers**

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Stewart, to approve Police Chief Hale's appointment of Scott Strudwick and Jose Hurtado as Auxiliary Police Officers. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# **Application for Use of Park**

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Stewart, to approve the request for use of the Community Park submitted by UPAC Girl Scouts for summer day camp. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 – Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

#### **Peach Festival Parade**

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Pearson, to approve the following regarding the Peach Festival Parade. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

Parade theme: 2017 Eclipse Awards: Cash \$75/\$50/\$25

Date and Time: August 5 and 4:30 p.m.

Parade Marshal: Betty Cerny

#### 2016-2017 Scholarship Award

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Pearson, to award the R. G. Williams Award to Robert Phillippe and the Village of Cobden – Dale Millis Auction Service Award to Hortensia Zamora-Martinez. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

# Resignation – Brittany Lence

Motion was made by Brumleve, seconded by Pearson, to accept the resignation from employment submitted by Brittany Lence. Upon roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 5 - Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt

Motion declared carried.

#### **Employment of Ashley Guined**

Motion was made by Pearson, seconded by Brumleve, to approve the employment of Ashley Guined at the rate of \$13.00 per hour, 32 hour minimum work week, IMRF participation, and health insurance with a three-month probation period. Upon roll call, the vote was:

 $\hbox{Ayes:} \quad \hbox{5--Brumleve, Gomez, Maze, Pearson, Sellars, Stewart} \\$ 

Nays: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Britt Motion declared carried.

# <u>Adjournment</u>

Motion was made by Sellars, seconded by Pearson, that the Regular Meeting of the Village Board of Trustees be adjourned. Motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Karen M. Winzenburger Village Clerk